2012 University Fellows

Thank you to the 2012
University Fellowship teams!

UC-Berkeley  ~  College of Saint Benedict ~  Wake Forest University
Kansas State University ~ University of Iowa  ~ James Madison University
Georgetown ~ UMKC


University of Iowa Scholars – Dolores Ortiz (IL), Melissa Nava (IL), Yvette Morales (IL) The University of Iowa, led by Dr. David Hingstman, sponsored three full tuition scholarships to the 2012 WDI! The Iowa Debate program has won the NDT, NDT Top Speaker, Copeland award, Novice Nationals, and has been in the finals or won every national invitational during the last 10 years.


Wake Forest University Scholar – Angie August (MA) Wake Forest University is coached by Dr. Jarrod Atchison, a long-time supporter of the WDI. The Wake Forest debate team is one of the top programs in the nation, including a semi-finals appearance at the 2010 National Debate Tournament.


University of California, Berkeley Scholar – Hiyawan Solomon (CA) The Berkeley debate team is led by Jonah Feldman. In addition to producing some of the top debate teams in the country, Berkeley hosts a top-notch high school debate camp every summer.


Kansas State University Scholar – Rosalia Amato Bauer (IL) KSU has a strong debate tradition, exemplified most recently by wining the 2011 CEDA National Championship.  Coached by Joe Koehle, the Wildcats are the alma mater of WDI Director of Finances Sarah Glaser.


James Madison University Scholar – Gabrielle Galvez (MN) James Madison University is led by Dr. Michael Davis and coached by Paul Mabrey. The JMU debate team is a force for leadership and diversity in the community of Harrisonburg, Virginia, and has a strong tradition of debate.


The University of Missouri, Kansas City Scholar – Nikquania Gamble (MA) UMKC, led by coach Matt Vega, has been incredible supporters of the WDI. Former UMKC coach Linda Collier is a founding member of our staff, and UMKC has produced national champions in policy debate for decades.


Georgetown University Scholar – Vanessa Cajuste (MA) Georgetown, coached by Jonathan Paul, has a tradition of debate success.  In 2012, a team of sophomores captured the National Debate Tournament Championship!  The Georgetown Debate Seminar is a high school summer camp in our Nation’s capital.


College of St. Benedict Scholar – Stella Oludayo (MN) The College of Saint Benedict designs programs to meet the needs and aspirations of young women, emphasizing women’s leadership and a personal development profile that includes intellectual, spiritual, emotional and physical development. WDI’s Executive Director, Dr. Christi Siver, is a professor of political science at CSB who debated at Lewis & Clark College.

Support Us