2011 University Fellows

Thank you to the 2011 University Fellowship teams!

UC-Berkeley   ~  Wake Forest University ~ Kansas State University
University of Iowa  ~ James Madison University ~ UMKC

University of Iowa Scholars – Samantha Srok (Wisconsin), Ashley Reid (Illinois), and Alessandra Torres (Massachusetts)

The University of Iowa, led by Dr. David Hingstman, sponsored three full tuition scholarships to the 2011 WDI!  Our Scholars, all policy debaters, illustrate part of the incredibly diverse spectrum of women in the debate community.  Samantha was inspired by our attention to the role of women in debate: “I’ve really learned not only more about basic policy debate, but specifically how my gender and sex plays into who I am as a debater.”  Ashley loved the diversity of other women at WDI: “I am used to being around lots of people from different environments, but meeting other girls who are all interested in debate is so much more cool.”  And Alessandra was just ready to start debating: “I learned so many new techniques and I can’t wait to share them with my debate team back home.”




Wake Forest University Scholar – Addison Koneval (California)

Wake Forest University is coached by Dr. Jarrod Atchison, a long-time supporter of the WDI.  The Wake Forest debate team is one of the top programs in the nation, including a semi-finals appearance at the 2010 National Debate Tournament.  Addison debates Lincoln-Douglas debate in California and says, “I can’t express how impactful this camp has been in shaping me as a young woman debater!”

 University of California, Berkeley Scholar – Jazmin Garcia (California)

The Berkeley debate team is led by Jonah Feldman.  In addition to producing some of the top debate teams in the country, Berkeley hosts a top-notch high school debate camp every summer.  Jazmin debates policy for the Bay Area Urban Debate League, and says, “The WDI was an amazing experience and it was by far the most fun debate camp I have ever been to.   The Berkeley debate program constantly inspires me to become a better debater.”

Kansas State University Scholar and WDI Policy Scholar – Sonia Larbi (Missouri)

The Kansas State University debate team is led by Justin Green and Sarah Snider-Green, and is the alma mater of WDI Board member Sarah Glaser and WDI staff member Beth Mendenhall.  KSU has a strong debate tradition, exemplified most recently by wining the 2011 CEDA Nationals championship.  In addition to being a successful high school policy debater, Sonia was recently selected to represent the United States at the World Debate Championship in South Africa this coming year.  Sonia has attended the WDI for the past two years, and she says, “I had a great year after going to the WDI last year and I was honored to be a scholar this year.    The WDI has always been a place where I could be myself.”

James Madison University Scholar – Catherine Cho (North Dakota)

James Madison University is led by Dr. Michael Davis and coached by Paul Mabrey.  The JMU debate team is a force for leadership and diversity in the community of Harrisonburg, Virginia, and has a strong tradition of debate.  Catherine participates in Lincoln-Douglas debate, forensics, and Student Congress.  She says, “I know that my experience at WDI will positively influence my debate career but in my life as well, which is why I plan on coming back next year.”

The University of Missouri, Kansas City Scholar – Tequilla Wilbourn-Little (Michigan)

UMKC, led by coach Matt Vega, has been incredible supporters of the WDI.  Former UMKC coach Linda Collier is a founding member of our staff, and UMKC has produced national champions in policy debate for decades.  Tequilla debates for the Detroit Urban Debate League, and she says, “The WDI was an amazing opportunity.  It really has made a difference.  I am a better debater – stronger, wiser, and well-educated!”

Support Us